Dates & Tickets
  • Sat 11.02.2023 // 19.00 o´clock // Premiere
  • Fri 24.02.2023 // 19.00 o´clock
  • Sat 04.03.2023 // 19.00 o´clock
  • Sun 19.03.2023 // 18.00 o´clock
  • Sun 02.04.2023 // 18.00 o´clock
  • Sat 15.04.2023 // 19.30 o´clock
  • Wed 03.05.2023 // 18.00 o´clock
  • Großes Haus
  • Premiere 11.02.2023

The Nibelungs

Tragedy in three parts by Friedrich Hebbel

The story of the dragon-slayer Siegfried, who, equipped with the great sword Balmung and a cloak of invisibility, stirs up the Burgundian court in Worms, where the bravest knights of the age have gathered, has many facets. They range from fantasy games to the gigantic opera saga »The Ring of the Nibelung« by Richard Wagner.

The poet Friedrich Hebbel finished his own version in 1861, even before Wagner.

Into the boredom at the Worms court bursts hero Siegfried, who wants to measure his strength with King Gunther and his men. An unequal contest! For how does one win against a man who has been made invulnerable by dragon's blood except for a tiny spot? But this invincible fellow, who – love at first sight – desires Kriemhild, the daughter of the house, can be of use. He is to bring Brunhild, the mysterious queen of Isenland, home as a bridal trophy for Gunther. Brunhild forces her suitors into a life-threatening contest, which only someone like Siegfried can pass unscathed.

The deal between him, Gunther and the latter's faithful adjutant Hagen (one hand washes the other, after all) is quickly concluded: Kriemhild is to be given to Siegfried if he conquers Brunhild for his future brother-in-law.

The deal succeeds. However, only until the double wedding night, when Gunther is defeated by Brunhild and has to summon Siegfried to his aid again. Protected by the cloak of invisibility, he overpowers Brunhild once more. The proud queen eventually learns that violence has been paired with betrayal when Kriemhild, full of scorn, presents her with the belt that Siegfried appropriated on the ill-fated night. The vow of silence between Gunther, Hagen and Siegfried is broken. And Hagen insists on Siegfried's death for the sake of his king's honour.

The murder plan, which Hagen carries out with extreme precision, has consequences: it does not soothe the pain of the wronged Brunhild, but it drives a wedge between Gunther and his brothers and turns Kriemhild into a relentless avenger. She marries a second time. The power of Etzel, the pagan King of the Huns, a mighty conqueror, comes just in time for her to plot her revenge. Thus she invites everyone to a family party at King Etzel's domicile on the Danube. And finally, after seven years, the Burgundians, including their favourite enemy Hagen, arrive in the land of the Huns ...

The 12th century epic poem »Nibelungenlied«, on which Hebbel's play is based, was elevated to the status of a German national myth in the 19th century at the latest. Its changing interpretation is part of German actual history. Hebbel's epic, which premièred in Weimar in 1861, remains close to the myth, but unfolds as a psychologically precise study of hubris, wounded pride, demarcation, political intrigue, well-intentioned betrayal, revenge and loyalty, which is both frightening and impressive in its radicalism.

Directed by General Director Hasko Weber.

Share with friends
  • Hasko Weber (Regie)
  • Thilo Reuther (Bühne)
  • Beate Seidel (Dramaturgie)
Sat 11.02.2023 // 19.00 o´clock Premiere

Fri 24.02.2023 // 19.00 o´clock
Sat 04.03.2023 // 19.00 o´clock
Sun 19.03.2023 // 18.00 o´clock
Sun 02.04.2023 // 18.00 o´clock
Sat 15.04.2023 // 19.30 o´clock
Wed 03.05.2023 // 18.00 o´clock

• Großes Haus
  • Premiere 11.02.2023

Die Nibelungen

Trauerspiel in drei Abteilungen von Friedrich Hebbel

Die Geschichte vom Drachentöter Siegfried, der, ausgerüstet mit dem Superschwert Balmung und einer Tarnkappe, den Burgunderhof in Worms aufmischt, an dem sich die tapfersten Ritter der Zeit versammelt haben, kennt vielerlei Facetten. Sie reichen vom Fantasy-Game bis zur gigantischen Opernsaga »Der Ring des Nibelungen« von Richard Wagner.

Der Dichter Friedrich Hebbel beendet, noch vor Wagner, 1861 seine eigene Version.

In die Langeweile am Wormser Hof platzt Held Siegfried, der mit König Gunther und seinen Mannen seine Kräfte messen möchte. Ein ungleiches Spiel! Denn wie gewinnt man gegen einen, der durch Drachenblut bis auf eine winzige Stelle unverwundbar geworden ist? Aber dieser Unbesiegbare, der - Liebe auf den ersten Blick - Kriemhild, die Tochter des Hauses, begehrt, kann von Nutzen sein. Er soll für Gunther Brunhild, die geheimnisumwitterte Königin des Isenlandes, als bräutliche Trophäe ins eigene Heim holen. Denn Brunhild zwingt ihre Bewerber zu einem lebensgefährlichen Wettkampf, den nur einer wie Siegfried unbeschadet bestehen kann.

Der Handel zwischen ihm, Gunther und dessen getreuem Adjudanten Hagen (eine Hand wäscht schließlich die andere) wird rasch geschlossen: Kriemhild geht an Siegfried, wenn er für seinen künftigen Schwager Brunhild erobert.

Der Deal gelingt. Allerdings nur bis zur Doppelhochzeitsnacht, in der Gunther an Brunhild scheitert und Siegfried wieder zu Hilfe rufen muss. Geschützt durch die Tarnkappe überwältigt dieser Brunhild ein weiteres Mal. Dass sich Gewalt mit Verrat gepaart hat, erfährt die stolze Königin spätestens, als Kriemhild ihr voller Hohn den Gürtel präsentiert, den sich Siegfried in der unseligen Nacht angeeignet hat. Das Schweigegelübde zwischen Gunther, Hagen und Siegfried ist gebrochen. Und Hagen dringt um der Ehre seines Königs willen auf Siegfrieds Tod.

Der Mordplan, den Hagen mit äußerster Präzision verwirklicht, hat Folgen: Er heilt zwar nicht die Wunden der verletzten Brunhild, treibt aber einen Keil zwischen Gunther und seine Brüder und macht aus Kriemhild eine unerbittliche Rächerin. Sie heiratet ein zweites Mal. Die Machtfülle des heidnischen Hunnenkönigs Etzel, einem Welteroberer, kommt ihr gerade recht, um ihrerseits Rachepläne zu schmieden. Darum lädt sie zur Familienparty in König Etzels Domizil an der Donau. Und endlich, nach sieben Jahren, treffen die Burgunder, darunter ihr Lieblingsfeind Hagen, bei den Hunnen ein ...

Das dem 12. Jahrhundert entstammende Nibelungenlied, auf das Hebbels Dichtung fußt, erfuhr spätestens im 19. Jahrhundert seine Aufladung als Mythos der Deutschen. Seine wechselvolle Deutung gehört zur deutschen Realgeschichte dazu. Hebbels Epos, das in Weimar 1861 uraufgeführt wurde, bleibt nah am Mythos, entfaltet sich aber als psychologisch genaue Studie über Hybris, verletzten Stolz, Abgrenzung, politische Ränke, gutgemeinten Verrat, Rache und Treue, die in ihrer Radikalität zugleich erschreckt und beeindruckt.

Regie führt Generalintendant Hasko Weber.

Seite mit Freunden teilen
Sa 11.02.2023 // 19.00 Uhr Premiere