Dates & Tickets
  • Thu 27.04.2023 // Premiere
  • e-werk weimar
  • Premiere 27.04.2023

Passion :SPIEL

Weimar Weekends for Contemporary Music Theatre // 27 April to 7 May 2023 e-werk weimar

With Passion :SPIEL, the Weimar Weekends for Contemporary Music Theatre will take place for the second time at e-werk weimar from end of April to early May 2023, following their first edition in March 2022. Passion :SPIEL expands the music theatre programme of the DNT and the Staatskapelle Weimar and is dedicated to experimental, innovative music theatre that points to the future. New productions and guest performances are shown. Passion :SPIEL enables intensive listening and viewing experiences and is at the same time a platform for a creatively explosive exchange between the institution, the independent scene and young artists. Together, new creative spaces are explored and other design vocabulary is implemented. Passion :SPIEL is dedicated to music theatre that hardly ever features in the usual operations of an opera house. It cultivates a different repertoire, supports new works and formats and tries out new ways of working, thinking and creating effects.

Passion :SPIEL 2023 presents living contemporary composers and their works. The thematic focus is the examination of myths. The invention of opera and many innovative steps in music theatre are linked to the subject matter of myths. They offer a society a forum for reassuring itself and articulating conflict-laden processes of negotiation and change. What myths are there today? What role do they play under radically changing cultural, social and media conditions? In which public sphere are they articulated? How can they be presented? Passion :SPIEL 2023 experiments with mythical content and corresponding performance and narrative methods. It presents works that play with and transcend the traditional performance situation: as multiple stage theatre, interaction, immersion and play in public space.

Another mainstay of Passion :SPIEL is the continued cooperation with the University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar, which has been expanded to include other collaborating universities. Passion :SPIEL creates an unusual and novel free space at a state theatre, a playground, a laboratory, a workshop, an experimental field, a research institute, an institute for the future.

 

Cooperation with the Musiktheatertage Wien.

 

Supported by the Federal Cultural Foundation.

  

Supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

 

Share with friends
  • Michael Höppner / Andrea Moses (Festivalleitung und Kuration)
  • Dominik Beykirch (Musikalische Gesamtleitung)
Thu 27.04.2023 Premiere

• e-werk weimar
  • Premiere 27.04.2023

Passion :SPIEL

Weimarer Wochenenden für aktuelles Musiktheater // 27.4. – 7.5.2023 im e-werk weimar

Mit Passion :SPIEL finden zwischen Ende April und Anfang Mai 2023 die Weimarer Wochenenden für aktuelles Musiktheater nach ihrer Erstausgabe im März 2022 zum zweiten Male im e-werk weimar statt. Passion :SPIEL erweitert den Musiktheaterspielplan des DNT und der Staatskapelle Weimar und verschreibt sich einem experimentellen, innovativen und in die Zukunft weisenden Musiktheater. Neuproduktionen und Gastspiele werden gezeigt. Passion :SPIEL ermöglicht intensive Hör- und Seherfahrungen und ist zugleich Plattform für einen kreativ-explosiven Austausch zwischen Institution, Freier Szene und künstlerischem Nachwuchs. Gemeinsam werden neue Gestaltungsräume erkundet und andere Formensprachen umgesetzt. Passion :SPIEL widmet sich einem Musiktheater, das im gewöhnlichen Betrieb eines Opernhauses so gut wie nie stattfindet. Es pflegt ein anderes Repertoire, unterstützt neue Werke und Formate und probiert neue Arbeits-, Denk- und Wirkungsweisen aus.

Passion :SPIEL präsentiert 2023 lebende zeitgenössische Komponist*innen und ihre Werke. Thematischer Schwerpunkt ist die Auseinandersetzung mit Mythen. Die Erfindung der Oper und viele Innovationsschritte im Musiktheater ereignen sich in Verbindung mit dem Stoffkreis der Mythen. Sie bieten einer Gesellschaft ein Forum, sich ihrer selbst zu vergewissern und konfliktreiche Aushandlungs- und Veränderungsprozesse zu artikulieren. Welche Mythen gibt es heute? Welche Rolle spielen sie unter sich radikal verändernden kulturellen, sozialen und medialen Verhältnissen? In welcher Öffentlichkeit werden sie artikuliert? Wie können sie dargestellt werden? Passion :SPIEL experimentiert 2023 mit mythischen Inhalten und entsprechenden Spiel- und Erzählweisen. Dabei präsentiert es Arbeiten, die mit der traditionellen Aufführungssituation spielen und diese überschreiten: als Stationentheater, Interaktion, Immersion und Spiel im öffentlichen Raum.

Weiteres Standbein von Passion :SPIEL ist die fortgesetzte und um andere Partnerhochschulen erweiterte Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT in Weimar. Mit Passion :SPIEL entsteht ein ungewöhnlicher und neuartiger Freiraum an einem Staatstheater, ein Spielplatz, ein Labor, eine Werkstatt, ein Experimentierfeld, eine Rechercheanstalt, ein Institut für Zukunft.

 

Kooperation mit den Musiktheatertagen Wien.

 

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

   

Gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

 

Seite mit Freunden teilen
Do 27.04.2023 Premiere