© Andreas Schlager
© Andreas Schlager
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
Dates & Tickets
  • Thu 02.12.2021 // 20.00 o´clock // Sold out possibly remaining tickets at the box office
  • Tue 28.12.2021 // 20.00 o´clock // Sold out possibly remaining tickets at the box office
  • Fri 07.01.2022 // 20.00 o´clock // Sold out possibly remaining tickets at the box office
  • Sun 06.02.2022 // 20.00 o´clock
  • Kulturzentrum mon ami
  • Premiere 19.11.2021

Zwischen Liebe und Zorn (Between Love and Anger)

A musical tribute to the Klaus Renft Combo

If you look at the 1960s and 1970s in the GDR, when it comes to so-called GDR rock, you come across the Klaus Renft Combo. Their reputation was legendary – even without a swarm of promoters working on the band's image. For many, it embodied rebellion against a system of paternalism, control, and pressure to conform. Klaus Jentzsch (Renft), the founder and for a long time also head of the group, resorted to his mother's maiden name when he formed the band in succession to the Butlers. He succeeded in binding very different musicians in his group for several years, three of whom acted as singers, and several wrote lyrics and composed. This resulted in the creation of songs that took root in the hearts of an entire generation, because they dared to critically describe the times and musically appealed to a broad audience without being trivial. The combo's performances from Suhl to Wolgast always resonated with a bit of defiance and underground, the stage was not only a showroom but also a podium to broadcast their own views of the world.

How far one may and should go in this, is something the band members around Klaus Renft began to argue about more and more frequently. How much opposition is one prepared to accept? Does one have to provoke performance bans for the umpteenth time? In the end, the Leipzig District Commission for Entertainment Arts made the decision: the band was declared 'non-existent' in 1975. Klaus Renft left for the West. Some of the band members followed him in subsequent years. Those who remained in the GDR joined other groups. And then a new period began after the German reunification: the great identity-establishing Klaus Renft Combo revival, with which in this time of upheaval many people associate the GDR, now only a memory, and their associated biographies.

In a concert-theatre evening, Hasko Weber and his ensemble devote themselves to the career of this special group, which epitomises the GDR as well as German-German history, and bring their unforgettable songs live to the stage.

Share with friends
  • Hasko Weber (Regie)
  • Tom Götze (Musikalische Leitung)
  • Thilo Reuther (Bühne)
  • Andrea Wöllner (Kostüme)
  • Beate Seidel (Dramaturgie)
  • Nahuel Häfliger
  • Bastian Heidenreich
  • Marcus Horn
  • Sebastian Kowski
  • Philipp Otto
  • Lutz Salzmann
  • Tom Götze (Bass)
  • Lars Kutschke (Gitarre)
Thu 02.12.2021 // 20.00 o´clock Sold out possibly remaining tickets at the box office
Tue 28.12.2021 // 20.00 o´clock Sold out possibly remaining tickets at the box office
Fri 07.01.2022 // 20.00 o´clock Sold out possibly remaining tickets at the box office
Sun 06.02.2022 // 20.00 o´clock

• Kulturzentrum mon ami
  • Premiere 19.11.2021

Zwischen Liebe und Zorn 1969-1975

Eine musikalische Erinnerung an die Klaus-Renft-Combo

Wer auf die 1960er und 1970er in der DDR blickt, stößt, wenn es dabei um den sogenannten DDR-Rock geht, auf die Klaus-Renft-Combo. Ihr Ruf war legendär – auch ohne dass ein Schwarm von Promoter*innen am Image der Band gearbeitet hätte. Sie verkörperte für Viele die Rebellion gegen ein System aus Bevormundung, Kontrolle und Konformitätszwang. Klaus Jentzsch, der Gründer und lange Zeit auch der Kopf der Gruppe, greift auf den Mädchennamen seiner Mutter zurück, als er die Band in Nachfolge der »Butlers« formiert. Ihm gelingt es, sehr verschiedene Musiker für mehrere Jahre in seiner Gruppe zu binden: Drei von ihnen agieren als Sänger, mehrere texten und komponieren zugleich. So entstehen Songs, die sich in den Herzen einer ganzen Generation festschreiben, weil sie eine kritische Zeitbeschreibung wagen und musikalisch ein breites Publikum ansprechen, ohne trivial zu sein. Immer schwingt bei den Auftritten der Combo von Suhl bis Wolgast ein bisschen Renitenz und Underground mit, ist die Bühne nicht nur Showroom, sondern auch ein Podium, die eigenen Positionen zur Welt zu veröffentlichen.

Wie weit man darin gehen darf und soll, darüber beginnen sich die Bandmitglieder um Klaus Renft immer öfter zu streiten. Wieviel Opposition will man sich zumuten? Muss man zum x-ten Mal Auftrittsverbote provozieren? Am Ende fällt die Leipziger Bezirkskommission für Unterhaltungskunst die Entscheidung: Die Band wird 1975 für 'nichtexistent' erklärt. Klaus Renft reist in den Westen aus. In späteren Jahren folgen ihm ein Teil der Bandmitglieder. Die, die in der DDR bleiben, schließen sich anderen Gruppen an. Bis nach der Wende ein neuer Abschnitt beginnt: das große identitätsstiftende Klaus-Renft-Combo-Revival, an das in dieser Umbruchszeit viele Menschen die nur noch in ihrer Erinnerung vorhandene DDR und ihre damit verknüpften Biografien heften.

Hasko Weber und sein Ensemble widmen sich in einem Konzert-Theaterabend dem Werdegang dieser besonderen Gruppe, die für DDR, aber auch für deutsch-deutsche Geschichte steht und bringen ihre unvergesslichen Songs live auf die Bühne.

Seite mit Freunden teilen
Fr 19.11.2021 // 20.00 Uhr Premiere

Karten

Do 25.11.2021 // 20.00 Uhr

Karten

Do 02.12.2021 // 20.00 Uhr

Karten

Di 28.12.2021 // 20.00 Uhr

Karten