© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz

Talk im Elfenbeinturm: Aida

Series of talks on new musical theater productions

In the new series of talks, opera director Andrea Moses discusses the topics of new musical theater productions with representatives from politics, business, science, culture and other experts in the real world.

With »Aida« Giuseppe Verdi created one of the greatest works in the history of European opera. In doing so, he composed on behalf of an Ottoman elite that ruled over Egypt and adorned itself with luxurious Western cultural goods; he was not interested in Africa for a second. Supposedly Egyptian and apparently Ethiopian he appropriated solely for the sake of effect. In this respect, »Aida« is not only a play about colonialism, but rather a testimony to it.

Andrea Moses' production deals with questions of cultural appropriation and dispossession. She moves the action to a modern ethnological museum, where the conflicts of our time are condensed in the dispute over so-called looted art.

 

Talk guests include Wolfgang Engler, university lecturer in cultural sociology and aesthetics, publicist and former rector of the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst »Ernst Busch« Berlin; Léontine Meijer-van Mensch, acting director of the ethnological museums in Dresden, Leipzig and Herrnhut; Götz Aly, German political scientist, historian and journalist.

Share with friends
Sun 29.05.2022 // 11.00 o´clock

Tickets

© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz

Talk im Elfenbeinturm: Aida

Gesprächsreihe zu neuen Musiktheater-Inszenierungen

Operndirektorin Andrea Moses diskutiert in der neuen Gesprächsreihe mit Vertreter*innen aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Kultur und anderen Expert*innen der Wirklichkeit über Themen neuer Musiktheater-Produktionen.

Giuseppe Verdi schuf mit »Aida« eines der großartigsten Werke der europäischen Operngeschichte. Er komponierte dabei im Auftrag einer osmanischen Elite, die über Ägypten herrschte und sich mit luxuriösen westlichen Kulturgütern schmückte; für Afrika interessierte er sich keine Sekunde. Vermeintlich Ägyptisches und scheinbar Äthiopisches eignete er sich allein der Wirkung halber an. Insofern ist »Aida« nicht nur ein Stück über den Kolonialismus, sondern vielmehr ein Zeugnis desselben.

Die Inszenierung von Andrea Moses setzt sich mit Fragen der kultureller An- und Enteignung auseinander. Sie verlegt die Handlung in ein modernes Völkerkundemuseum, in dem sich die Konflikte unserer Zeit in der Auseinandersetzung um die sogenannte Beutekunst verdichten.

 

Talkgäste sind u. a. Wolfgang Engler, Hochschullehrer für Kultursoziologie und Ästhetik, Publizist und ehemaliger Rektor der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst »Ernst Busch« Berlin; Léontine Meijer-van Mensch, amtierende Direktorin der Völkerkundemuseen in Dresden, Leipzig und Herrnhut; Götz Aly, deutscher Politikwissenschaftler, Historiker und Journalist.

Seite mit Freunden teilen
So 29.05.2022 // 11.00 Uhr

Karten