© Andreas Schlager
© Andreas Schlager
© Konrad Cwik
© Konrad Cwik
© Felix Broede
© Felix Broede
  • Weimarhalle

9th Symphony concert

Conducted by Kirill Karabits / Soloist: Airam Hernandez (tenor)

Franz Liszt 3rd Mephisto - Waltz No. 3 (world premiere)
Boris Lyatoshynsky »Grazhyna« Ballad after Adam Mickiewicz op. 58
Franz Liszt »A Faust Symphony in Three Character Pictures« p. 108

 

Already during his time as Weimar's GMD and chief conductor from 2016 to 2019, Kirill Karabits was intensively engaged in the compositional work of his predecessor in office, Franz Liszt, and brought many a hitherto unearthed treasure to the light of the concert stage. On his return as guest conductor of the Staatskapelle, he will now perform the orchestral version of the 3rd »Mephisto Waltz« for the first time, the performance of which he himself put the finishing touches to.

Liszt's »Faust Symphony« was launched in Weimar as early as 1857 for the dedication of the Goethe-Schiller monument: a work that, for all its programmatic nature, pays intense homage to the ideals of symphonic compositional technique à la Beethoven and also incorporates a chorus in the finale, so that it has often been compared with the latter's grandiose »Ninth«. Appropriate or not - the work, which ingeniously combines drama and orchestral music, is visionary in any case.

On the occasion of the war in Ukraine, Karabits, who comes from Kiev, has also included the symphonic ballad »Grazhyna« by his compatriot Boris Lyatoshynsky (1894-1968) in the program - highly emotional music that is as much influenced by the sentimental world of Romanticism as by Slavic folkloristic echoes.

With the gentlemen of the DNT opera choir (rehearsal: Jens Petereit) and the Thuringian State Youth Choir (rehearsal: Franziska Kuba).

 

Public dress rehearsal on Sunday, 11 a.m. in the Weimarhalle
Tickets: 10,50 Euro, limited contingent

Share with friends
  • Kirill Karabits (Dirigent)
Sun 12.06.2022 // 19.30 o´clock

Tickets

Mon 13.06.2022 // 19.30 o´clock

Tickets

© Andreas Schlager
© Andreas Schlager
© Konrad Cwik
© Konrad Cwik
© Felix Broede
© Felix Broede
  • Weimarhalle

9. Sinfoniekonzert

Dirigent: Kirill Karabits / Solist: Airam Hernandez (Tenor)

Franz Liszt 3. Mephisto – Walzer Nr. 3 (Uraufführung)
Boris Lyatoshynsky »Grazhyna« Ballade nach Adam Mickiewicz op. 58
Franz Liszt »Eine Faust Symphonie in drei Charakterbildern« S. 108

 

Bereits in seiner Zeit als Weimarer GMD und Chefdirigent von 2016 bis 2019 hat sich Kirill Karabits intensiv für das kompositorische Schaffen seines Amtsvorgängers Franz Liszt eingesetzt und so manch bisher ungehobenen Schatz ans Licht der Konzertbühne befördert. Bei seiner Wiederkehr als Gast ans Pult der Staatskapelle lässt er nun erstmals die Orchesterversion des 3. »Mephisto-Walzers« erklingen, an deren Aufführbarkeit er selbst die letzten Federstriche getan hat.

Bereits 1857 wurde in Weimar zur Einweihung des Goethe-Schiller-Denkmals Liszts »Faust-Sinfonie« aus der Taufe gehoben: ein Werk, das bei aller Programmatik intensiv den Idealen sinfonischer Kompositionstechnik à la Beethoven huldigt und zudem noch im Finale einen Chor einbindet, so dass man sie oft mit dessen grandioser »Neunter« verglichen hat. Passend oder nicht – visionär ist das Drama und Orchestermusik genial verknüpfende Werk in jedem Fall.

Aus Anlass des Krieges in der Ukraine hat der aus Kiew stammende Karabits zudem die Sinfonische Ballade »Grazhyna« seines Landsmanns Boris Lyatoshynsky (1894-1968) ins Programm genommen – hochemotionale Musik, die von der Empfindungswelt der Romantik ebenso geprägt ist wie von slawisch folkloristischen Anklängen.

Mit den Herren des Opernchores des DNT (Einstudierung: Jens Petereit) und dem Landesjugendchor Thüringen (Einstudierung: Franziska Kuba)

 

Öffentliche Generalprobe am Sonntag, 11 Uhr in der Weimarhalle
Karten: 10,50 Euro, limitiertes Kontingent

Seite mit Freunden teilen
So 12.06.2022 // 19.30 Uhr

Karten

Mo 13.06.2022 // 19.30 Uhr

Karten