• Foyer


Chamber music matinee of the Staatskapelle Weimar

Ludwig van Beethoven String Quartet in E flat major op. 127 
Erich Wolfgang Korngold String Quartet No. 2 op. 26


With the E-flat major quartet op. 127, Beethoven ventured again for the first time after a fourteen-year break into the most important of all chamber music genres: Music of the very highest order, whose density and emotional intensity left contemporaries »baffled«. Korngold's 2nd Quartet was written in the summer of 1933 and vacillates between charm, wit and melancholy. A Viennese waltz serves as the finale - summoned cheerfulness in dark times.


with the Amalia Quartett: Barbara Seifert (violin), Astrid Schütte (violin), Almut Bormann (viola), Astrid Müller (cello)

Share with friends