© Candy Welz
© Candy Welz
© Marco Borggreve
© Marco Borggreve
  • Weimarhalle

6. Symphony Concert

works by Ludwig van Beethoven and Richard Strauss

Ludwig van Beethoven: Ouvertüre zu »Coriolan« op. 62
Ludwig van Beethoven: Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 3 c-Moll op. 37
Richard Strauss: »Tod und Verklärung« op. 24
Richard Strauss: »Don Juan« op. 20

Befitting Beethoven’s choice of the sombre C minor key, our 6th Symphony Concert examines how we cope with powerful emotions, death and mourning. Beethoven’s only concerto composed in a minor key nonetheless offers several paths to brighter spheres and uses the means »that this instrument [the piano] possesses for the expression of gentle feelings«. In contrast, the military commander Coriolanus is anything but gentle. »I despise every man, yet I know not myself,« he admits in Heinrich von Collin’s
tragedy. In Beethoven’s overture, Coriolanus’ inner conflict plays out in the music. Strauss’ »Death and Transfiguration«, on the other hand, is more about reconsidering the meaning of life, an artist comparing
his ideal with reality in the face of death.

Share with friends
6. Symphony Concert
Media library
  • Sunwook Kim (Klavier)